Anaesthesia And Tea: The Eternal Love Story


“There was definitely something in the air that day. I just couldn’t stop looking at her. She smelled amazing and there was a glow on her dusky face. She was actually looking smokin’ hot that day. It had been almost 24 hours since I last felt her touch, so I just couldn’t control myself. I brought my lips closer to hers, and took a sip. Superb cup of tea. I loved her.”

Just like a surgeon loves lack of sleep and varicose veins in his own legs, an Anaesthesiologist loves his tea. Perfect drink. Refreshing, hot, and no rocket science to prepare. I mean, I was never fond of cooking anything but now I follow an easy guide to prepare tea:
• Take an electric kettle and find its base from where you had forgotten it the day before.
• Wash a cup with detergent and pray to God that your terrible cleaning skills have managed just enough.
• Pour hot water in the cup and dip the tea bag in it EXACTLY 28.5 times. If you dip it any more or any less, it is a Hindi TV serial level bad omen. Aliens could abduct you or Salman Khan could make Kick 2 or Mihir could die.
• Add milk powder and sugar Swaadaanusar and Diabetes control-aanusar. Stir well. Drink. Don’t be stupid enough to use a straw. (OK just once that it happened to me, so stop judging)

In Anaesthesiology, tea is religious. It does not matter if you are vegetarian or non-vegetarian. People care less if you are a teetotaller or have to be carried home by two people every evening. But you must love your tea. You are an outcast if you do not drink tea. Imagine your peers and seniors enjoying a hot cup with diet-namkeen and Marie biscuits while you sit in a corner in darkness with your water bottle and indifference towards tea. You know what they are thinking about you? They are thinking that you are a peace-hating Satan-worshipping Congress supporter who probably watches Sonakshi Sinha movies first day first show. My advise: Thank God you didn’t mention coffee. May be you wouldn’t have been allowed in the same room.

I have faced my own problems with developing feelings for tea. See, I was never fond of tea. I like her cousin Iced Tea, who is way ‘cooler’ than her, but I think I have had hot tea less than 10 times in my life till last month. Now, I clean my cup with detergent, but I am not a pro at it, hence I am sure that there is always more surf-excel in my tea than milk powder. I will never figure out the right amount of sugar to be added to a cup, so my tea is either a coma-cocktail for a diabetic, or a bitter brown liquid which may melt your intestines. I wish to fall in love with tea soon. I don’t want to miss out on free Marie biscuits.

Tea has stood the test of time for Anaesthesiologists. From the era of Shambhu Chai Wala’s tongue-burning cutting to now where there is a huge prepare-it-yourself tea kit, we can look forward to the future where there might be a tea-dispensing outlet right below the ventilator. Remember, a sip can save lives. 😝

 

About Ankit Sharma

Doctor and Drummer in making... Movie-buff since birth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

